Denakisland

Welcome to the land of Denakis

It's been awhile and nothing is as it should be. July 2, 2010

Filed under: Other,Recipe — Desiree @ 8:10 pm
Tags: , ,

Life is crazy!  Did you know that?  I’m sure you do, because it seems I’ve heard that before somewhere…

Nothing is as it should be and hasn’t been for awhile.  First we were dealing with end of school activities and with 3 different schools, there were a lot of activities to deal with.  Throw in an ailing family member (who was able to make it to heaven just a week ago) and a couple of kids’ birthdays, I’m sure you can imagine how “un-normal” things have been.

On top of all the un-normal stuff, we’ve been working on normal stuff as well.  Getting the garden in, buying a fridge, getting tires on the van, getting used to summer vacation, wishing, hoping and bribing the rain to go A-W-A-Y and I’ve been working on a different format for my menu planning and all that jazz.  I think I’ve found something that works, but more about that later.

Tonight was a fun one though.  I’ve been recovering from a *fun* summer cold ( ahem, not fun!) and a boring dinner menu this week  (Really, what WAS I thinking?) so when Jason came home from work today, which by the way was NOT a normal work day for him so you can see, everything has been all messed up, I asked him what he wanted for dinner because I was not making what was on the menu.

He said:  I don’t know.

Oh, how I hate that answer!

(But I SO love to use it!)

So, after a while he was all, Maybe I want pizza?  And I jumped on it!  Grabbed the ads to see what was on sale, looked on the websites and got coupons and drove my butt to PapaMurphys.  I’m usually not a fan, but what the hell, it’s easy, I have coupons and it’s easy.  Oh, I said that already.

So, to jump around a bit, today was rainy.  Yuck.  It’s rained a lot lately and it feels more like April than July.  What’s up with that?  So I had black bananas in the freezer so I thawed them out and made Chocolate Chip Banana Banana Bread.  It was nummy.  Really nummy.  So nummy in fact that while I wasn’t looking and waiting for pizza number three to cook Jaidelyn took it upon herself to get a fork, knife and place to server herself up a GIANT piece!  I caught her right in the knick of time and sent her on her way, putting the plate on the counter.  Went to feed the pig and came back to no plate on counter.  “Umm… Jason?  Where’s Jaizy?”  “She’s in her room.”  “Does she have banana bread with her?”  “Oh shit!”  He and Matthew jump up and check and yup, there she is sitting at her little tea table enjoying a huge-ass piece of banana bread.

Pizzas

Pizzas number 1, 2 & 4

Pizza

Pizza # 3 baking

Time-out Jaizy

Jaizy in Time-Out because...

Chocolate Chip Banana Banana Bread

MONDO piece of Banana Banana bread

So she did time in time-out.  But damn, it is cute how she is sneaky!  One day, I might be proud…

Chocolate Chip Banana Banana Bread

Makes 1 9×5 loaf pan.  To make 2, simply double recipe.

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 2  cups mashed very overripe bananas
  • 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1  Preheat oven to 350°.
    2  Lightly grease 9 x 5 loaf pan, or spray with flour cooking spray.
    3  In large bowl, combine flour, soda and salt.
    4  In separate bowl, cream together butter and brown sugar.
    5  Stir in eggs, mashed bananas and chocolate chips until well blended.
    6  Stir banana mixture into flour mixture; stir just to moisten.
    7  Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.
    8  Bake in preheated oven for 60-65 minutes until a toothpick inserted into center of loaf      comes out clean.
    9  Let bread cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack.
    10  Keep out of 3 year old’s hands and room.

     

    Leave a comment