Denakisland

Welcome to the land of Denakis

Clam Chowder in HM bread bowls April 21, 2010

Filed under: Recipe — Desiree @ 9:20 pm
Tags: ,

Ok, so funny story.  I had a great clam chowder recipe.  It was very good and everyone liked it.  Clam chowder was on my menu last week and I went to make dinner and forgot that my clam chowder recipe was a crock pot recipe.  How did I forget this?  I have no idea!  So I scrambled over to recipezaar.com to find another.  Boy, am I glad I did!  This new recipe will completely replace mine and is SOOOO good!  I don’t even care that it has canned soup in it!  I changed up some stuff, so here is my rendition.  The original recipe had bacon, so if you like bacon in your clam chowder, by all means add it.  It didn’t need it.  It also called for fresh potatoes and I like to cheat and use cubed hashbrowns.   Yeah, I’m lazy like that.

Here it is:

Served 8

  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 4 (5 ounce) cans baby clams, with juice reserved
  • 4 cups  frozen cubed hashbrowns
  • 4 (10 1/2 ounce) cans cream of celery soup (I used low sodium/fat)
  • 4 cups half and half
  • 2 tablespoon butter
  • 2 teaspoon dried dill weed
  1. In a soup pot cook onion until translucent.
  2. Add clam juice from both cans.
  3. Add potatoes.
  4. Cook and cover until potatoes are fork tender, about 15-20 minutes, stirring every so often so potatoes don’t stick.
  5. Add clams, soup, cream, milk, and dill weed and stir to mix well.
  6. Add butter and let melt into the chowder.
  7. Cook for about 30-45 minutes or until thickened, stirring occasionally.

See how easy that is?

It’s unbelievably delicious.

I took a picture of the bread bowls but never got to them actually filled with chowder because… it was too good.

 

Leave a Reply

