Denakisland

Welcome to the land of Denakis

My most favorite snack in the whole, wide world (right now) April 10, 2010

Filed under: Recipe — Desiree @ 4:00 pm
Tags: , , ,

Hummus.  Is there anything more lovely than hummus?  I think not.  I’ve been devouring hummus for the past 2 months like I’m pregnant and it’s my craving.  (BTW, I’m not and it’s not!)

Anyway, It’s expensive to buy!  Holy smokes, have you ever seen how much they charge for this?  If you have a food processor or a blender (and patience) it’s the easiest thing ever.  Here is how I make it:

  • 2 cans of garbanzo beans, juice reserved
  • 1 large clove of garlic
  • olive oil (about 3-4 Tbsp, depends)
  • lemon juice (about the juice of one lemon)

Place beans, garlic, lemon juice and 1/3 of the reserved bean juice into the processor and turn on.  Stream in olive oil until it has reached the desired consistency.   Keep processing for 5-8 minutes (or longer) until it’s as smooth as you’d like.

That’s it.  Some recipes call for tahini but I haven’t been able to find this at my local Freddies so I just leave it out.  My taste buds don’t care.  Seriously.

I eat this with veggies, pita chips (keep reading to see how I make quick and easy chips), pita bread and by the spoonful.  Just kidding.  I don’t eat this with a spoon!

Quick and easy pita chips

Buy or make pita pocket bread.  Cut into pizza-like slices and separate halves of the pocket and place on cookie sheet.  Spray with olive oil or canola oil and salt lightly.  Bake at 375 degrees about 15 minutes, or until crispy.  Enjoy!

 

One Response to “My most favorite snack in the whole, wide world (right now)”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Desiree Denakis. Desiree Denakis said: My most favorite snack in the whole, wide world (right now): http://wp.me/pRBsP-25 […]


Leave a Reply

